Burlesque in one act

Text by Aleksandr Pushkin

00:22   Somewhere, in a thrice-ninth kingdom

03:35   Here’s the sage in front of Dadon

06:47   Peacefully, two years go by

10:06   Eight days pass

12:01   Troops are marching day and night

21:50   At last, on the way home

Mukhtar Melikov, baritone

Nataliya Golovnya, mezzo-soprano

Azerbaijan State Choral Cappella

Elnara Kerimova, Artistc Director

Muzaffar Agamali-zadeh, flute, piccolo

Eldar Aliev, trumpet

Tofik Aliev, timpani

David Koifman, bass guitar

Shain Mamedov, percussion

Vadim Galilov, percussion

Chichek Rzaeva, harp

Regina Papiyants, piano

Igor Plitsyn, conductor

Concert performance

May 15, 1989

Azerbaijan State Philharmonic Hall

Metric translation of the tale into English by Walter Arndt